Make a cel-shading image with Photoshop CS4

In my previous post I said that I want to post snippets and something like that and my first post is a Photoshop tutorial ^^’ !

For all my web activities I needed an avatar so “I make” one myself. My idea was : I want a chocobo and I want it with cel-shading. So, here we go:

Original image (under Square Enix copyright):

chocobo_photoshop_01

and the result at the end of the tutorial:

rifraf_avatar

So, let’s start:

NB: My photoshop is in french sorry for the french screenshots

  • Unlock the main layer double-clic on it and Ok (the padlock will disappear)

 

  • Take the Magic Wand (don’t forget to use Maj to add to your selection) and select all parts thant you not wantchocobo_photoshop_02

 

  • Remove parts with del and then CTRL-D to unselect

 

  • Duplicate the layer (CTRL-J) and hide the duplicated

chocobo_photoshop_03

 

 

  • On the first layer : Filters / Blur / Smart blur with superior blur quality and Edge only mode

chocobo_photoshop_4

 

  • Make it negative (CTRL-I)

chocobo_photoshop_5

 

  • Filters / Artistic / CutOut

 

chocobo_photoshop_6

 

  • You will have this:

chocobo_photoshop_7

 

  • Come back to the duplicate layer and set the blending mode to Multiply

chocobo_photoshop_8

 

  • It’s dependant from this picture but I think the eyes do not stand out enough, so select them with Magic Wand

chocobo_photoshop_9

 

  • Then select the first layer and press del

chocobo_photoshop_10

 

  • To remove some artefacts do Image / Adjustments / Brightness/Contrast

chocobo_photoshop_11

 

  • Our chocobo became a little pale so let’s add some colors, duplicate the second layer and change it blend mode to Multiply

chocobo_photoshop_12

 

  • Then on it Filters / Stylize / Trace Contour

 

  • Image / Adjusments / Desaturate

 

  • Image / Adjusments /  Brightness/Contrast

chocobo_photoshop_13

 

  • Same as before, eyes doesn’t stand out enought, so take the first layer to get the same eyes hole

chocobo_photoshop_14

 

  • Going to the latest layer a press del

chocobo_photoshop_15

 

Here you are with a beautiful (I hope ^^) cel-shaded chocobo. I recommend to make your own adjustments because it depends of every image.

As you see, I use 2 différents adjustments between this tutorial and the first image presented as the result, so don’t hesitate to try differents combinations.

This entry was posted in photoshop, tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Make a cel-shading image with Photoshop CS4

  1. Vovka says:

    Great tutorial, thank you!

  2. Pingback: 3D Modelling – Platinum Piotr

Leave a Reply

